Jump to menu


Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust was established on 1st August 2006. It is a large, complex organisation providing acute healthcare to a population of 330,000 in North Merseyside and surrounding areas. The immediate catchment covers some 33 square miles which is largely urban with significant areas of commerce including docklands. The Trust provides acute hospital services to the residents of South Sefton, North Liverpool and Kirkby.

The Trust is one of the largest employers locally with around 4400 staff.

It is also a teaching hospital for the University of Liverpool and a tertiary centre providing specialist services to a much wider population of around 1.5 million in Merseyside, Cheshire, South Lancashire and North Wales. The population served by Aintree includes some of the most socially deprived communities in the country, with high levels of illness creating a high demand for hospital-based care.

Merseyside has some of the worst rates for heart disease and cancer in the UK, and has also been associated with a culture among patients of low empowerment over their health status and a reliance on the availability of hospital care.

The Trust provides services from University Hospital Aintree, which is a large acute hospital providing Accident & Emergency services and a wide range of acute and non-acute specialties. The Trust provides a range of specialist services to a much larger catchment area with patients travelling from as far away as North Wales and the Isle of Man. Specialist services are provided in Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, Maxillofacial and Liver Surgery. The University of Liverpool School of Clinical Sciences has a major presence at University Hospital Aintree, with a number of Professorial Units within the divisions of Infection and Immunity, Metabolic Medicine and Surgery and Oncology situated exclusively on the Aintree site.

Additional information can be accessed at www.aintreehospitals.nhs.uk